Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Raw Banana Bread

A few days ago I posted a recipe for raw carrot biscotti. Today I have a recipe for raw banana bread and believe me when I say this bread is frickin’ amazing. I made it a few months ago and my mom took some to work with her. She had to share it with all her coworkers because they couldn’t believe how awesome (and raw!) it was. It’s similar to the carrot biscotti but this recipe uses sprouted buckwheat flour instead of oat. Personally, I like the buckwheat because it has a neutral flavor and it’s actually not a grain but a fruit seed related to rhubarb. And, big bonus, buckwheat doesn’t contain any gluten! I’m not (by a long shot) gluten-free, but I know there is a growing community who is. Buckwheat is also high in protein and fiber, making it an ideal breakfast food. I love this bread and I’ll definitely be making it again soon!

Raw Banana Breadmakes 10 pieces

3 c raw buckwheat groats
12 small dates, soaked in hot water for 10 minutes, liquid reserved
3 ripe bananas
1/3 c coconut butter, melted
1 tbsp vanilla
1/2 tsp ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cardamom
2 1/2 tsp salt
1/4 c agave
2 tbsp chia seeds
1/2 c date soaking water (or plain water)
1 c walnuts, soaked, drained and roughly chopped
1/2 c shredded coconut
1/2 c raisins

1) Soak the buckwheat groats for 6-8 hours, rinsing often. Drain the groats and place in a glass jar with a sprouting lid. Let sprout for 1-2 days. You don’t want to sprout for too long, just enough so you can see the ‘tail’

Sprouted Buckwheat

2) Once the buckwheat is sprouted, dehydrate for 7-8 hours until the groats are dry. Grind the dried buckwheat in a blender or coffee grinder until you have a nice, fine flour (should be a little less than 3 cups. If you have extra – which is a good idea if you plan on using sprouted buckwheat flour again – you can store the remainder in the freezer)

Sprouted Buckwheat Flower

3) In a food processor, combine the buckwheat flour, soaked dates (not water), bananas, melted coconut butter, spices, salt, agave, and chia seeds. Process until smooth and very well combined, slowly adding 1/2 c of date soaking water as needed.

4) When the mixture is smooth, add the coconut and chopped walnuts and pulse until they’re incorporated. Transfer to a bowl and stir in raisins. The dough will be pretty sticky.

5) On a teflex dehydrator sheet, shape the dough into a loaf and score the top to mark where you’ll slice it into pieces. Dehydrate the loaf at 120° for 4-5 hours, then remove and cut into slices. Transfer the slices to a mesh tray and continue to dehydrate for 8-9 hours or until the bread is firm, but not doughy.

Ready for the dehydrator

All sliced up

I can’t say enough how delicious this bread turned out. I ate it for breakfast almond every day – a few times with coconut butter on top and the another time with peanut butter. Yum!

Delicious for breakfast!

We’re still in Connecticut. I went to a great yoga class this morning at the Mystic Yoga Shala. It was a power class and by the end I was SWEATY! It felt great though, and I’ll be going back tomorrow and hopefully the next day too. I’m also hoping to get some mountain biking in! We’re thinking of renting a few bikes so my mom and Joe can ride with us. Should be fun!

